SharePoint/Teams: Share a file outside of a Team

Summary

The following topics discuss how to share links, files, and folders in Microsoft SharePoint and Microsoft Teams. You may select from three options when sharing: anyone, people in your organization, and specific people.

Content

Sharable links

Giving people permissions to a site, group, or team gives them access to all site content. If you want to share an individual file or folder, you can do so with sharable links. There are three primary link types:

  • Anyone links give access to the item to anyone who has the link. People using an Anyone link don't have to authenticate, and their access can't be audited.
  • People in your organization links work for only people inside your Microsoft 365 organization. (They don't work for guests in the directory, only members).
  • Specific people links only work for the people that users specify when they share the item.

If you want anyone who receives the sharing link to be able to access the content, select Anyone with the link option in Link settings. The recipients won't need to have a Microsoft 365,  OneDrive, or SharePoint account and can access the content without having to enter a passcode or sign in. Note that they can forward the link to others and anyone who receives the link will be able to view and access the content. 

If you want to secure your content and get a link that only works for the people you invite, select Specific people in Link settings when creating the sharing link. The recipient will then need to verify their identity before they can view the content, but the process depends on their account

 

Share a file or folder

Here's how you share files or folders in SharePoint:

  1. Select the file or folder you want to share, and then select Share.

    Screenshot of sharing dialog box showing a sharing link for people inside the organization.

  2. (Optional) Click the dropdown list to change the type of link. The Details pane opens, where you can change who can access the link and whether people can edit the item you’re sharing.

    Options for Who would you like this link to work for (options vary based on admin settings):

    • Anyone gives access to anyone who receives this link, whether they receive it directly from you or forwarded from someone else.

      Note: This option is not available in SharePoint Server 2019.

    • People in <Your Organization> gives anyone in your organization who has the link access to the file, whether they receive it directly from you or forwarded from someone else.

    • People with existing access can be used by people who already have access to the document or folder. Use this if you just want to send a link to somebody who already has access. 

    • Specific people gives access only to the people you specify, although other people may already have access. If people forward the sharing invitation, only people who already have access to the item will be able to use the link.

    Note: If a sharing option has been greyed out, your organization's admins may have restricted them. For example, they may choose to disable the Anyone option to prevent usable links being forwarded to others.

    By default, Allow editing is turned on. If you want people to only view your files, uncheck the check box.

    When you're done, click Apply.

  3. Enter the names of the people you want to share with and a message, if you want.

  4. When you’re ready to send the link, click Send.

Note: When sharing a file, if you select the Outlook option, this only allows you to include a link to the file in the email message. If you want to attach the actual file, you must download a local copy from SharePoint, then attach the file to the email.

Get a link to a file or folder that you can copy

Another way to share is to get a link to a file or folder that you can copy and paste in a text message or on a website. People you share these links with can also forward your link to others.

  1. In SharePoint, click Copy link. The link is automatically copied to your clipboard.

    Screenshot of the copy link dialog box

  2. (Optional) Click the dropdown list to change the type of link. The Details pane opens, where you can change who can access the link and whether people can edit the item you’re sharing.

    Options for Who would you like this link to work for (options vary based on admin settings):

    • Anyone gives access to anyone who receives this link, whether they receive it directly from you or forwarded from someone else.

    • People in <Your Organization> gives anyone in your organization who has the link access to the file, whether they receive it directly from you or forwarded from someone else.

    • People with existing access can be used by people who already have access to the document or folder. It does not change the permissions on the item. Use this if you just want to send a link to somebody who already has access. 

    • Specific people gives access only to the people you specify, although other people may already have access. If people forward the sharing invitation, only people who already have access to the item will be able to use the link.

    By default, Allow editing is turned on. If you want people to only view your files, uncheck the check box. This can be further restricted by selecting the option to Block download, which means they cannot save a local copy.

    When you're done, click Apply.

  3. Paste the link (Ctrl+V) to wherever you want, such as a text message or on a website.

Notes: 

  • The permission granted by a sharing link lasts only as long as the link exists. For example, when a link is disabled, access is revoked (though people may still have access to the file via other means).

  • When Allow editing is selected: After they sign in, people in your organization can edit, copy, or download the files. When Allow editing isn’t selected, people in your organization can view, and may be able to copy or download the files.

  • Site administrators can restrict sharing so that only owners can share files and sites.

  • If site administrators have not restricted sharing to site owners, any user with Edit permissions to a file or folder can share that file or folder with others by clicking Share or Copy link. Users who don't have edit permissions can use Copy link to get a link that will work for users who already have permissions to the file or folder.

 

Microsoft Teams

Only team members can see team files.

You can share a file with people outside your team (if they are also using Teams) by sending it to them in a chat. Click here to learn how to use the Chat feature in Microsoft Teams.

If you want to share a file with someone outside your organization, open the file in Office Online or an Office app and share it from there.

Need Additional Help?

Please fill out the Microsoft Integrated Services (MIS) webform with as much detail as possible, or contact the ET&S Help Desk team on your local campus.

For additional Training, please visit the Teaching & Learning Technologies Training site

Details

Article ID: 2262
Created
Thu 4/23/20 1:56 PM
Modified
Thu 4/15/21 2:04 PM
Applicable Institution(s):
Granite State College (GSC)
Keene State College (KSC)
Plymouth State University (PSU)
University of New Hampshire (UNH)
USNH System Office