Canvas: Inactive students in course

Summary

This article describes inactive students in Canvas.

Content

During the Add/Drop period at the start of the semester you may find your course roster changes .  Students who have dropped a course will appear as "Inactive" in the People area of your course.   

A student is set to inactive in a course when they have gone through the official process of dropping the course through the Registrar's office.  When that happens the student's access to your course is inactivated and the student no longer sees the course on their Canvas dashboard.   The student's name will continue to be listed in your Canvas people roster but will show "inactive" next to the name.   The student will no longer appear in your Canvas gradebook.  

Instructors should not remove an inactive student from a course in case the student is re-activated. 

In some circumstances, the student's status may be reactivated, in which case, if the student has participated in any assignments, discussions, quizzes, these activities will be restored.  Students removed from a course will not be able to retrieve their previous submissions.

If you have setup Groups in your course, then you'll have to add new students to the designated group. Go to the course People area to access your Groups. You use the drag and drop functionality to move students into groups or to another group.

If you are using iClickers in your course, a student who is inactive will still appear in the Clicker roster.  When you synchronize your grades into Canvas, the system will ignore that student's name.

 

Need additional help?

Please fill out the Canvas webform with as much detail as possible, or contact the ET&S Help Desk team on your local campus.

 

 

 

Details

Article ID: 1474
Created
Fri 7/19/19 6:07 PM
Modified
Mon 4/5/21 1:47 PM
Applicable Institution(s):
Granite State College (GSC)
Keene State College (KSC)
Plymouth State University (PSU)
University of New Hampshire (UNH)