Box - Restoring Trash or Deleted Items

Trash

The Trash, accessible in the Box web interface, is where deleted items are stored for a certain period. These items are automatically purged after 60 days.

From the Trash, you can recover deleted files and folders. Both the owner and the user who deleted the item will be able to recover items from the Trash.

Accessing the Trash

To open the Trash page, simply click Trash in the left-hand sidebar.

Box allows you to sort and filter items within the trash folder. You can filter content by Items I deleted and Items I own.

  • The Items I deleted filter will display all items deleted by you, regardless of who created or owns the item.
  •  The Items I own filter will display all deleted items that you own, regardless of who deleted the item.

Recovering Items

The Trash folder allows you to recover or empty the entire Trash folder, or perform actions on just a few items as needed.

 To recover the entire folder, select Restore All from the top of the page. These recovered files are restored to the original file location.

To recover specific items from the trash, click to select an individual item (or shift+click to multiselect) and click the Restore icon.

The following details are restored along with the file:

  • Description
  • Tags
  • Comments
  • Tasks
  • Share state (whether the shared link is enabled or disabled)
  • Collaborators

These details are not restored:

  • Expiration setting on shared links
  • Expiration settings for deletion
100% helpful - 1 review

Details

Article ID: 1321
Created
Fri 7/19/19 6:00 PM
Modified
Tue 6/30/20 2:41 PM

Related Articles (1)